About the South Pacific

The South Pacific is vast place; covering 11 million square miles stretching from the top of Australia to the Hawaiian Islands. Some islands, such as Fiji and the Solomon Islands, are well known, while others not so much. The South Pacific is home to 2.8 million people, 16 island nations, and over 25,000 individual islands.


While collectively called the South Pacific, these island nations are divided into 3 regions: Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia, each with its own cultural traditions and language variations.

Religious beliefs and practices (often mixed with tribal traditions) vary from island to island. Every kind of "Christian" religion and cult is found throughout the islands along with Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Catholicism.

The purpose of the South Pacific Baptist Outreach is to bring the truth of the Gospel to every island and to every person.